Clinton West Elementary School is the newest elementary school in Tulsa Public Schools, but the campus has a rich history dating back almost 100 years. The school opened in 1925 as a senior high school and was subsequently expanded. It became a middle school in 1938. In 2017, the district moved students at Clinton Middle School to the Webster campus. The Clinton Middle School building was renamed Clinton West Elementary and became home to students from three other schools that were also closed during this time. Those schools were Remington Elementary, Park Elementary, and ECDC Porter.
Charles Clinton (1847-1888) was born on a farm in Georgia. On his way to Oklahoma, he drove cattle over the Chisholm Trail and settled in Okmulgee. Clinton met and married Louise Atkins, a Creek citizen and teacher. It was Louise who rode horseback and collected money from the cowboys to build the first church and school in Red Fork. In 1884, Louise received a federal allotment in Red Fork in the area of the present Clinton West. The Clinton home was built where the school now stands, the site chosen because of the lovely view.
The Clintons’ contributions include land and financial assistance to the community and school system. All sectors of the community have reason to admire the Clintons. The family invested in education, church schools, public schools, and colleges. They also donated land to Tulsa Public Schools. The generosity and philanthropy of the Clintons is consistent with our community values.